PINEVILLE, W.Va. — Oceanetics will expand with a new 15,000-square-foot manufacturing facility at the John D. Rockefeller Industrial Park in Wyoming County, adding 25 new full-time jobs, the West Virginia governor's office announced Nov. 4.
The expansion will raise the company's workforce from 20 to 45 employees. Oceanetics, which works in maritime buoy systems, naval defense equipment and port security technology, also plans to invest $1.2 million in specialized manufacturing equipment. The West Virginia Infrastructure and Jobs Development Council is providing the final financing needed, and the Wyoming County Economic Development Authority owns and manages the industrial park facility.
What this means
Location Decision analysis: The job count is small, but it more than doubles this employer in Pineville. The public side is carrying part of this project: a county authority owns the park facility and a state council is closing the financing. The company's stated number is the $1.2 million for equipment.
Oceanetics acquired Truston Technologies in 2018, the release says, and WVVA reported that year on Truston adding jobs in Pineville. So this is growth by an employer already there. Without a total project cost or public financing amount, a per-job comparison isn't possible.
What to watch
Construction is expected to begin shortly, with the facility anticipated to open in fall 2027. The release does not state the size of the state financing, the total project cost or the terms between the company and the county authority.
ON THE RADAR
Company: Oceanetics
Location: John D. Rockefeller Industrial Park, Pineville, Wyoming County, W.Va.
Investment: $1.2 million in equipment; total project cost not disclosed
Jobs: 25 new full-time
Type: New manufacturing facility
Announced: Nov. 4, 2026
Useful contacts
Company questions: Oceanetics lists 410-571-5186 and a contact form on its official site, which gives an Annapolis, Md., address. This is a general line, not a designated Pineville hiring or supplier contact.
State announcement questions: The governor's office lists 304-558-2000.
Checked Nov. 5, 2026, against the company site and the governor's release.
Stay close to this story
Work on this project, help train its workforce or see something we should follow? We’d like to hear from you. Send Andy an update, a source or a question for our next round of reporting.
