SAVANNAH, Ga. — The Georgia Ports Authority has received a U.S. Army Corps of Engineers permit for the Savannah Container Terminal, a $2.3 billion, 3.5 million TEU facility on 350 acres of Hutchison Island, the authority announced Oct. 14 at its annual State of the Port event. Construction is set to begin in January 2028, with completion expected in the mid-2030s.

The permit followed a three-year review. The terminal would lift the Port of Savannah's planned future capacity to 12 million TEUs, up from 7.75 million today. The authority is also spending $1.6 billion to upgrade its Ocean Terminal from 200,000 to 1.75 million TEUs, work expected to be completed by the end of 2028. Both projects are part of what GPA calls a self-financed investment plan of nearly $5 billion for the next ten years. GPA is a state authority, so this is public-sector spending, not private capital. The release does not state job numbers.

ON THE RADAR

Company: Georgia Ports Authority (public)
Location: Hutchison Island, Savannah (Chatham County), Ga.
Investment: $2.3 billion (public port authority, self-financed)
Jobs: Not disclosed
Type: New container terminal (3.5 million TEU, 350 acres; federal permit approved)
Announced: Oct. 14, 2026

Enjoying this?

Get stories like it in your inbox: where companies invest, why locations win and who’s making the calls. It’s free.

Keep Reading